Browsing Category

Digestive Diseases


Anatomy The alimentary or Digestive System includes:

In the mouth—The teeth, Tongue, Tonsils, Salivary glands.

In the chest—The ɶsophagus or Gullet.

In the abdomen (1) The Stomach, (2) Small Intestines—divided into three parts—Duodenum, Jjunum and Ileum, (3) The large Intestines (divided into Caecum and Vermiform Appendix, Ascending Colon, Transverse Colon, Descending Colon, Sigmoid Flexure, Rectum and Anus, (4) The Liver and Gall-bladder (5) Pancreas.

Of these the salivary glands secrete saliva for digestion of starchy foods, the stomach secretes pepsin and hydrochloric acid for digestion of protide foods and milk; the pancreas secretes pancreatic juice for the digestion of protides, fats and starches; the gall-bladder supplies bile for the emulsification of fat; and the small intestines secretes Succus Entericus for the digestion of fats, protides, acids and starches.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept